I have had bento boxes on my mind for quite sometime now. What cuter way is there to pack a lunch, then pop open a brightly coloured container full of tasty healthy snacks? Seriously, I can’t think of anything more fun to look forward to, at my desk, typing case notes.

Since wanting to improve my fresh fruit/vegetable intake and since “Credible Edibles“, my consumer focus became clear. And boy, was I soooo excited when I spotted the oval femmio valentino blue bird bento! So, of course I had to buy it. (Of course.) In spite of the fact that I couldn’t read any of the chinese on the wrap… but who cares? Right?

Anyway, much to my surpise, my little blue bento, that I had envisioned as being a double-decker, is actually just an adorable little expensive box. Hm. That was not what I had in mind. So I decided to look it up online. Maybe I just didn’t put it together properly. Maybe there is a trick to the making it bigger. As it turns out: nope. Yes, it’s a bento box. Single layer.

As it turns out there are many kinds of bento boxes, from plastic to metal and apparently, I have been the proud owner of 3 of these boxes all along. I had no idea! (Well actually I knew about one of them, because my old roommate Rika brought it back for me from Japan, but it’s still packed, from my last move.) Wow.

