This morning while I was grinding my coffee, I got to thinking about it. In my hazy, sleepy state it just came to me the importance of this daily ritual in my life and well being. Especially, I felt a strong affinity to it. That and the other beans we process and adore (this includes chocolate… mmmmm).

I start off everyday with a cup of coffee and my computer. I cherish this, because it sets me straight and prepares me for the chaos of my day. (I don’t know about your days, but mine can be pretty crazy sometimes.) I need about 15 minutes to sip and read over the highlights of a couple of blogs, and then I am ready to get out there. It’s a routine and it means something to me.

I remember when I was little, my Grandpa had the ritual of playing CBC radio. The “ding ding ding ding” of the morning news I will remember forever. His ritual soothed me. It let me know I was at my Grandparents’ house. I recall my Grandma cooking bacon and “ding ding ding ding” in the background at every half hour. Actually, thinking back I even used to listen to CBC when I lived in Invermere and definitely it grounded me.

Now I know, some people don’t drink coffee and of course they have their reasons. (I get that and respect it for sure… I too enjoy a good cup of tea.) However, for myself I love my morning coffee. It’s usually the only cup I drink and I gives me what I need to start my day.  I heart those charged little roasted beans!

So thank you cup of coffee. Thank you honey and cream. Thank you Bialetti 4 cup. Thank you coffee beans. Thank you those who sell it to me. Thank you folks who grow and harvest it. Thank you for sharing your food. Thank you thank you thank you.

