For two weeks in a row now, I have received rhubarb in my vegetable box.  What the heck?  (Or as Ghost Hunters would say, “What the frig?”)  I’m actually not the biggest fan of rhubarb, so I wasn’t thrilled to discover it for a second time.  Ugh, ugh, and ugh.  That is how I feel about this poor, innocent whateveritis.

Anyway, I don’t want to leave it to rot and I’m afraid to give it to my dog, so I guess I have to figure something out, eh?  The first thing I did was scour my cookbooks, hitting “Jamie at Home” before any other, because he has a chapter called “Rhubarb” (he grows this stuff in his garden).  Anyway, that lead me nowhere, as half the recipes turned out to be cocktails.  Scratch that.  I’m not opposed to bellinis and the like, but it’s not handy and frankly, I’m not in the mood to drink refreshments when it’s about to burst into a storm outside.  That’s just me I suppose.

So I finally decided to make a crumble.  I was really hoping not to resort to that, as crumbles aren’t my favourite either.  Oh wellllllll.  Funnily, while I was putting it together, I thought it would taste better with the addition of rum.  I’m never had a crumble with rum before, but my chopped apples, rhubarb and prunes seemed to be needing some rum.  They were thirsty!  Yes, that’s it!  A nice dark rum to spice up the recipe.  Can you imagine eating a warm rummy crumble with rich, vanilla ice cream… gad.  Now that sounds decent!  Plus, perhaps I’d get a little drunk and the blah-zay of rhubarb crumble would be tolerable.

Our boxes now come with a check-list, whereby we can chose the vegetables we would like in the future and double, triple checked that my rhubarb option was left blank.

