Okay, garlic scapes are what I am the most excited for on Sundays.  I have been getting them in my vegetable box every week and I’m always so excited when they come!  They’re so curly and meaty, a little like mild garlic green beans.  (FYI: green beans are actually my favourite vegetable of all time.)

This particular Korean recipe is totally delicious.  When I first made this meal, way back when, I was in love with it.  It is so easy and one of those meals that you never forget.  Mind you, Korean food is like for me… pretty much perfect in every way.  I often wonder if it’s because of the sesame oil.  That stuff is gooood.

This is what you need:

garlic scapes chopped about an inch and a half (or garlic stalks, as they are sometimes called)
thin sliced beef sliced into strips (I found mine at an Asian grocery store, in the freezer dept)
mushrooms (I used a handful of brown mushrooms, but oyster or portabella would be great too)
1 tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp sake
1 tsp mirin
1 garlic clove crushed or sliced (or however you do it… I chop mine)
1/4 tsp sesame oil

In a frying pan, heat about a tbsp of oil and cook beef with some salt and pepper. Once cooked, add your scapes and stir-fry briefly, then add mushrooms. When heated thoroughly add the seasoning and bring to a boil. Garnish with the sesame oil.

That’s it, you’re done. Yummers!

