It’s no secret that I’m not the biggest fan of eggs, but this morning I had a real hankering for an omelette.  Rather than try to resist it (or whatever) I decided to make one.  And I decided that my leftovers from dinner last night ought to be the main ingredient.

Every Sunday I have a local, organic vegetable box delivered to my doorstep (who doesn’t like that??) and I receive such things as Swiss chard, turnips, carrots, diakon, garlic snapes, onions, green and purple beans, peas, mustard greens, cilantro, beets, and the like.  To my panic, yesterday I realized that due to my time-away-from-home this week (I was teaching an Aboriginal Science Camp in Victoria), I had A LOT of vegetables stacking up in my fridge.  Now not wanting to waste them, but full-on knowing that a storage bin of new ones were arriving the next morning, I thought I had better get on it.  So for lunch I had a monster salad (BORBORYGMUS!) and for dinner I baked chicken thighs, turnip, garlic, carrot, green beans, onion and tomatoes  (after baking, I added chopped Swiss chard, arugula and feta cheese).

Typically for breakfast I usually have some kind of shake.  Lately, I have been having blueberry, banana and oatmeal shakes (I soak the oatmeal overnight or for awhile in the morning), but today I felt like eating food, I could chew.  It seems that before 10 am I have a hard time “eating” breakfast.  I’m not sure why, but the idea and act makes me gaggy and then breakfast usually ends up being skipped.  Not cool.  However today, being Sunday and all, and considering I wasn’t up until later in the morning (Glee’na woke me up actually), and after a couple of hours busy-doing-nothing on the internet,  I thought it’s time to eat.

I’ll admit right now, I’m not very skilled at cooking omelettes, but you know what?…that’s not the point.  Also, you can see in my picture that the frying pan I chose is too big, but that’s not the point either.  There are some many set-backs that we can have in our kitchens (like “I don’t have the right tools”, “I don’t know how to make it”, “I can’t cook”…)  and really, all that negative thinking only holds you back from your experience as your own chef.  So what if I can’t cook eggs or haven’t bothered to buy for a fancy lox and caper omelette preparation?  Who cares?  You just gotta do it and experiment.  I mean, you know what you like to eat right?  Rigggghhht? (If you don’t, then that’s something to think about.)  The point is, most of us we know what we like to eat, what tastes we enjoy, what textures we fancy and what foods are available to us.  Cooking is in our blood and CLICK-ETY-CLACK!, get in the kitchen and show yourself what you’re made of.

As it turns out my omelette was fabulous!  I added Swiss chard, onions, feta cheese and arugula (as I did to my meal the night before), and topped it off with a TBSP of balsamic vinegar.  I don’t know what the rule is about adding vinegar to eggs, but as if I care… AH UH AH UH! it was a doggone tasty!

