Okay, in all my years of cooking and reading about cooking, I have never ever heard of baked oatmeal.  Have you?  My goodness, what a delicious meal to keep secret!  And oh so versatile too!

Breakfast has always been a bit tricky for me (I know I’ve mentioned this before and will likely bring it up again), but like everyone I need to eat breakfast everyday.  I do what I have to and often end up resorting to nutritious shakes.  I love shakes, I do, but after a while, I just can’t drink another shake (those of you who have had them regularly know what I’m talking about).  I can drink meal replacement shakes every morning… I’m over it.

I came across this recipe via a cool blog called The Nourished Kitchen and then of course I cut the recipe in half and changed a lot of the ingredients.  I modified it, so to speak, to suit my tastes and stocked (unstocked?) cupboards.

Here is what I did:

(1) Cut the recipe in half, so that means 1.5 cups of oatmeal and 1/2 cup of pecans (I don’t have walnuts) and so on.

(2) I didn’t add apricots or coconut oil, because I stock neither.

(3) I added 2 mashed bananas.  (YUM!)

(4) I used rice milk instead of regular milk.  (I never buy milk.)

The results… TOTALLY AWESOME!

As you can see, I bake a lot in my cast iron frying pan.  I love the rustic look and the fact you get more iron out of your meal when you use it.  As well, it’s a great size for me.   This recipe cooks very well in a cast iron and I recommend it if you have one.  If not, don’t worry about it too much.

This recipe makes enough baked oatmeal to last me all week.  It keeps wonderfully in the fridge and can handle being dragged around all day in my purse.  I snack on it throughout the morning and sometimes grab a piece for an afternoon snack.  You can see by the list of ingredients that it’s healthy, low in fat, high in fiber and high in protein.  Actually, I’m not sure if there is anything wrong with baked oatmeal.  I’m serious.

