Never apologize or worry about a craving to make cookies, I say.  To be fair, I hardly ever crave cookies, so when I do, I just go for it.  Considering it’s just me and my dog (and she can’t eat chocolate), any sweet dessert that I bake is going to hang around until I eat it all.  So certainly, I do take that into consideration… and then go for it!

When I was younger, my mom’s friend Karen used to make these delicious coconut, chocolate refrigerator cookies and I thought they were THE MOST amazing treats.   Anyway, as an adult I have tried to figure out the recipe for them and I can’t google them anywhere!  (Yes, I just used “google” as a verb.)  I’m so confused…are these cookies called “macaroons”?  What the heck??  (What is the proper name of this recipe??)  Well whatever, long story short, much to my dismay, this recipe has been hard to find.

However,  on Saturday I had some success (after searching for over an hour) and learned that these cookies are Southern!!  OH MY GAD, NOOOO WAY!  **SQUEAL!** Anyone who knows me (especially my brother who is as big a fan of “Don’t Mess With Texas” as me) KNOWS I love Deep South.  (I might even be a bit obsessed, for reasons that are not entirely clear to me.)  Not to go on and on about Southern Recipes, because I don’t want to beat this to death, I do have to say that this recipe is now one of the most relevant cookies recipes on the planet.  And it explains why these little coconut numbers make me smile like a goat in a briarpatch.

Okay, so I didn’t exactly find a perfect recipe and so I had to kind of marry a couple and cheat a bit.  (Geez, that doesn’t sound very good, does it?)  But I’ll write out the lowdown of what I did, with the warning that it takes forever for these cookies to harden and even then, they don’t really harden.  Plus, I sort of knew that they were going to be goopy, so I spread mine out on a tray and cut them into squares later on, when they were quasi-solid-ish.

1/2 cup of sugar
1/2 an expensive dark chocolate bar
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup cocoa
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla
8 tbsp butter
1 cup oats
1 cup coconut

Melt everything but oats and coconut in a pot, on the stove.  Add oats and coconut when everything is melted.  Using a spoon, drop individual cookies onto a pan (with parchment).  Let harden in the fridge.

Like I said, these measurements are not that great and you really have to play around with the proportions.  Worse comes to worse, you just spread it out on parchment right?  It’s really win – win not matter what happens.  Also, I noticed most recipes called for 2 cups of sugar or something crazy like that.  I don’t think that’s necessary at the end of the day and plus it’s not that good for anyone to have that much sugar.  Believe me the cookies were sweet enough with 1/2 cup.

My review: They were so good that if you put them on top of your head, your tongue would slap your brains out tryin’ to get to them!

Ha!  Don’t you love Southern Slang?

