I love making Sunday breakfast. It used to be, every Sunday I would roast potatoes, fry bacon, toast bread and sometimes cook eggs. (Usually I made a quick chipole and kale bean dish, in place of eggs.) It was a Tradition I was excited to wake up to and it always kicked off the day on the right foot.

However, as I got older, this menu started to feel more like a heavy, fat-ish way to begin a day and it kind of stopped working for me. So my Sunday breakfasts started to become somewhat of an intermittent practice, in spite of missing it like crazy. Lately, I have begun to cook on these mornings again.

Although the ingredients are different, the general theme remains the same. Simply I want something roasted, I want variety and I want sauce. Those three, make my Sunday.

This morning I did just that. I chopped and roasted garlic, squash and potatoes with smoked paprika and sea salt in my favourite cast iron pan (400 degrees for 35 mins). And in another, I gently heated chopped firm tofu with lemon juice, and added with garlic, leeks, and gai lan. I didn’t really cook the tofu dish, but rather just warmed it up. To the tofu dish, I added raw shredded purple carrot and then topped it off with scissor-chopped broad bean. Tahini sauce was poured over everything and breakfast was accomplished. Ahh, so nice to be back in the routine.

Tahini Sauce:

1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce
1/3 cup tahini
2 tbsp maple syrup or honey
1/4 cup water
1 chopped garlic clove
optional: 1 tbsp chopped onion

Blend.

