I’m going to be honest about my feelings about soup: first, I really really like homemade soup and second, I really really don’t like store bought soup (or even most restaurant soup for that matter).  It’s pretty much black and white like that too.  I haven’t found a purchased soup that I completely enjoy, though I have tasted some that are tolerable, but nothing to race down the aisle for.  In our cupboards we have a Costco bunch of Mr. Noodle (other members of my family enjoy these, but actually only sort-of, as the packages have been sitting untouched for months now) and I have shelved several litres of organic chicken broth.  Anyway, Mr. Noodle doesn’t really count as “soup” anyway, more like ramen noodles in yellow salt liquid, that more often than not, remains in the bowl to be dumped down the sink.

So we just started to purchase “meat orders” from our local butcher, in order to save money on our food bill.  It’s no secret that food prices are going up and we have to learn how to adapt to these new prices.  I don’t want to compromise our quality of food.  I know not everything I cook is a HIT at our house, but I do my best to at least show that I care about the health of my family.  So one day, when everyone is all grown up, they can look back and realize food is an option when eating.  We do spend money on our groceries and we stock lots of whole foods on a weekly basis.  Plus, we eat meat, so that adds up too.  However, we can learn to prepare and enjoy cuts of meat that are more affordable than say chicken breast and rib eye steaks (though I love rib eyes!).  I need to learn how to cook these meats and the challenge inspires me.  This soup recipe is born from the whole chicken that came in our first meat order.

The chicken was first roasted (like very unique about that) and we had one meal just as such.  The next day, I took the bones and spent half the day boiling the flavour out of them and the second half of the day preparing the soup.

This soup is not fancy by any stretch of the imagination.  It has vegetables that were in the fridge (I didn’t get in all the veggies I wanted, because we didn’t have them… oh well) and the chicken was hand separated by me.  I didn’t add a lot of spices or salt and most of the grunt work was basically checking the pot every-once-and-awhile to ensure nothing was boiling over.  Pretty easy, but it did take time to prepare or rather, to wait around.  I was home all daythough, so really all it took was the extra foresight and motivation to put the carcass in a pot and then turn it into a delicious soup.  And yummy it was.

And still is!  Hence, we ate the last frozen soup this afternoon for lunch.  That is another bonus about homemade soup: you always make waaaaaay too much to eat in one meal.  So freeze it and eat it later.  Believe me, nothing goes down better when you’re pissy and sick with a cold (like I am today) and all you have to do is reheat a nutritious meal.  Also, it’s raining, so soup couldn’t taste any better.

