I have officially grown up, now that I have made my first pot roast.  (Another item from our meat order.)  This recipe is from my mother and it’s a cinch to make.  It’s so easy, you don’t even have to thaw the roast… imagine that.

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Take frozen roast and smother it with garlic, herbs and olive oil (I’m not sure if my Mother told me to do this, but I did and it was great).  Place beef in roasting pan and add an inch or so of water.  Set timer for 2 hours and after such time, turn over roast and reset timer for 2 hours.  Don’t let the water run out, as not to damage your pan, though it’s okay to let it cook in it’s own juices for the final half hour or so of cooking.  Total time : 4 hours.

This roast needs to be started around 2 pm if you want to eat around 6 pm.  And If you’re at home anyway, why not throw this together?  Roast beef dinner is one of those meals that everyone tends to enjoy, to at least some degree (I’m talking about kids here).  It’s not too crazy and if you roast it with vegetables, it’s even better.  Personally, I still need to sort out how to cook gravy.  Gravy is harder than it looks and in spite of being the “Official Gravy Stir-er” for much of my youth, I still don’t get it.  Sigh.

