Last night I made a batch of uneventful apple chicken balls, that were so boring not even my carnivorous daughter would eat them (she did eat her french fries though). Needless to say I had an excess of leftovers and I had to figure out what to do with all these bland balls. So I figured, soup. And to make this idea even more perfect, it rained today. Actually I should say this more like: YAY IT RAINED!!! BAHAHA HEATWAVE YOU HAVE BEEN DEFEATED FOR TODAY!!! Yo, I’m so done with the hot hot heat. Soooo over it.

This morning off we went to No Frills for our weekly shop and my kid’s once-a-week opportunity to dress as a princess, but act like a dragon, and there I picked up a container of Blue Menu Chicken Broth and a cheap package of egg noodles. To be honest, I’m usually not a fan of chicken soups, but because these are meatballs versus chopped pieces, this style of chicken seems to be okay with me. And no, I don’t think I have OCD. Anyway, the point is I’m not exactly an experienced chicken soup maker.

You know Google is my friend and quickly while my daughter was begging me for cookies, crackers, anything, right now… I looked up whatever recipe popped up first. With my swift mother eyes and broken attention, I saw that one usually adds onion, garlic, celery, and carrots to their chicken soup. I did notice people add spices too, but I didn’t have time to read about that. Then I fired up Netflix for the desperate toddler and started cooking my veggies until they were translucent. Ok no I didn’t. I actually just cooked them in the time it took to take the tab off the broth container… form versus function people! Gee, when are they going to make better packaging??

Because my processed broth had no added salt and same with my chicken balls, I did the forbidden and added a chicken bouillon cube too. I know, so bad! I felt slightly guilty for about a second, but I wanted this soup to have flavour, even if it was just salt and MSG. My logic was, it doesn’t matter, it will get eaten at least. Then I added the noodles (they cook for 6 min or something like that),  frozen peas, and chopped hunks of chicken balls, which I could have and should have cut smaller. (Hindsight is always 20/20, right?)

Then it was time to feed the monkey and though I didn’t want to ruin the integrity of the salty broth, it was still boiling hot after 10 minutes of cooling.  So in went the ice cube, off went the kid to play in her makeshift blanket fort, and out came my mom voice, reminding her over and over again to eat her bowl of soup. I ate mine as fast as I could, because I was starving (like all moms by dinner time) and my daughter is still insisting she is eating, even though the bowl sits lonely by itself.

Yes, another successful meal… sort of.

Don't mind the scissors and those hunks that look like croutons, are actually the chicken balls cut into smaller pieces. I agree, the presentation of this soup could use some improvement.

Don’t mind the scissors and those hunks that look like croutons, are actually the chicken balls cut into smaller pieces. I agree, the presentation of this soup could use some improvement.

 

